Newsletter   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Membership
Distinguished Artist Award 2017

2017 Distinguished ARTIST Award Recipient

Back to ISPA Awards

Peter Brook CH, CBE

Peter Brook Peter Brook was born in London in 1925. Throughout his career, he distinguished himself in many genres: theatre, opera, cinema and writing.

He directed his first play in London in 1943. He then went on to direct over 70 productions in London, Paris and New York. His work with the Royal Shakespeare Company includes Love’s Labour’s Lost (1946), Measure for Measure (1950), Titus Andronicus (1955), King Lear (1962), Marat/Sade (1964), US (1966), A Midsummer Night’s Dream (1970) and Antony and Cleopatra (1978).

In 1971, he founded with Micheline Rozan the International Centre for Theatre Research in Paris and in 1974, opened its permanent base there in the Bouffes du Nord Theatre. There, he directed Timon of Athens, The Iks, Ubu aux Bouffes, Conference of the Birds, L’Os, The Cherry Orchard, The Mahabharata, Woza Albert!, The Tempest, The Man Who, Qui est là, Happy Days, Je suis un Phénomène, Le Costume, The Tragedy of Hamlet, Far Away, La Mort de Krishna, Ta Main dans la Mienne, The Grand Inquisitor, Tierno Bokar, Sizwe Banzi, Fragments, Warum Warum, Love is my Sin, 11 and 12,  The Suit, The Valley of Astonishment and most recently Battlefield. Many of the productions performed both in French and English.

In opera, he directed La Bohème, Boris Godounov, The Olympians, Salomé and Le Nozze de Figaro at Covent Garden; Faust and Eugene Onegin at the Metropolitan Opera House, New York and Don Giovanni for the Aix en Provence Festival.  Later, for the Bouffes du Nord, he directed La Tragedie de Carmen, Impressions de Pellias and Une Flûte Enchantée.   

Peter Brook’s autobiography, Threads of Time, was published in 1998 and joins other titles including The Empty Space (1968) – translated into over 15 languages, The Shifting Point (1987), There are no Secrets (1993), Evoking (and Forgetting) Shakespeare (1999) and The Quality of Mercy (2014). 

His films include Moderato Cantabile (1959), Lord of the Flies (1963), Marat/Sade (1967), Tell me Lies (1967), King Lear (1969), Meetings with Remarkable Men (1976), The Mahabharata (1989) and The Tragedy of Hamlet (2002, TV). 

Sign In