This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Latest News: Member News

Jacques Marquis Named President and CEO for The Van Cliburn Foundation

Wednesday, March 20, 2013   (0 Comments)

Help us congratulate ISPA member organization The Van Cliburn Foundation on their new CEO and President appointment!  Below is a press release from the Van Cliburn Foundation which details the appointment of Jacques Marquis as the new CEO and President.

FORT WORTH, Texas —Carla Kemp Thompson, chairman of the Van Cliburn Foundation board of directors, announced today that Jacques Marquis has been named president and CEO for the Cliburn, effective immediately.  

Jacques MarquisMr. Marquis joined the Cliburn in early September 2012, as interim executive director. With two decades of experience and an extensive network of national and international contacts, he has eagerly tackled the challenge of integrating a remarkable 50-year Cliburn history with the board’s strategic vision. As president and CEO, Mr. Marquis is committed to empowering the Cliburn’s professional team, and to inspiring thousands of volunteers and supporters, and millions of fans of piano music toward the goal of advancing the Cliburn’s position as the champion of classical music worldwide.  

"Jacques Marquis has been truly effective as interim executive director during a period of leadership transition,” said Mrs. Thompson. "He brings valuable skills sets and experience to the Cliburn, and his energy and enthusiasm have already invigorated the organization. Jacques’ knowledge of music and artistry, combined with his years of competition management and his core belief in the tenents that Van Cliburn held dearly, make him ideal to lead the organization as its new president and CEO. We look forward to Jacques and his family becoming a vital part of Fort Worth.”  

Mr. Marquis said, "It is an honor and a privilege to work for this prestigious organization, particularly at this pivotal time with the exceptional journey ahead. We prepare for the upcoming Competition this May with a renewed commitment to Van Cliburn’s vision of artistic excellence and his dedication to sharing music with the largest audience possible. I am thankful to Carla Thompson and the Cliburn board for their bold long-term vision and for their support. My family and I are grateful to the people of Fort Worth for welcoming us so warmly, and we look forward to being a part of this engaging community."  

Jacques Marquis brings to the Cliburn outstanding expertise and a wealth of international piano competition experience, informed by his formal education and 20 years of working in the industry. A bilingual executive with degrees in business administration and music, he is recognized as a dynamic and visionary leader, highly skilled in team management, fundraising, operations, and finance.  

As executive and artistic director of Jeunesses Musicales Canada (JMC) from 2002 to 2012, Mr. Marquis contributed to answering their dual mandate: promoting classical music, especially among youth, and supporting the career development of the country’s finest young artists, both at home and abroad. By the end of his tenure, JMC was producing 800 concerts and 700 workshops annually.  

In 2002, he was instrumental in helping establish the Montreal International Musical Competition and functioned as its executive and artistic director. In that role, he was responsible for 11 editions of the competition—five voice, three piano, and three violin.  

Working for the Orchestre Métropolitain du Grand Montréal from 1994 to 2002 (current artistic director Yannick Nézet-Séguin), he first served as artistic administrator before rising to chief operating officer in the late 1990s.

Mr. Marquis has served extensively on boards in his native Canada and internationally, among them Jeunesses Musicales International, the World Federation of International Music Competitions, and the Université du Québec à Montréal.

A graduate of the Université de Montréal with a Bachelor’s degree in music (piano), Mr. Marquis earned a second degree in business administration, specializing in management, from the Université du Québec à Montréal.  

The Cliburn disseminates classical music worldwide and nurtures and launches young artists’ careers through the quadrennial Van Cliburn International Piano Competition and ensuing three-year international concert tours of its medalists as well as award-winning documentaries, radio broadcasts, and a live webcast that extends outreach to listeners across the globe.  

Dedicated to its namesake and inspiration Van Cliburn, who passed away on February 27, 2013, the Fourteenth Van Cliburn International Piano Competition will take place May 24–June 9, 2013, at Fort Worth's Bass Performance Hall and will welcome 30 of the world's finest pianists to Texas. Continuing its longstanding commitment to new music, the Cliburn has selected composer Christopher Theofanidis to write the commissioned work that will be performed by all competitors during the Semifinal Round. Additionally, the competition has been dedicated to showcasing both the extraordinary talent of its competitors in recital performance as well as their ability to collaborate with other musicians. The Fourteenth Competition will mark the first Cliburn appearance by the world-renowned Brentano String Quartet performing a piano quintet with each of the 12 semifinalists. The Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra, which has appeared at every Cliburn Competition, will perform two concerti with each of the six finalists, under the baton of Maestro Leonard Slatkin for the first time.  

Maestro John Giordano (United States) will serve as chairman of the jury for his eleventh competition since he assumed the post in 1973. Other jury members include: Dmitri Alexeev (Russia), Michel Beroff (France), Andrea Bonatta (Italy), Richard Dyer (United States), Joseph Kalichstein (Israel), Yoheved Kaplinsky (Israel), Liu Shih Kun (China), Minoru Nojima (Japan), Menahem Pressler (United States), Blanca Uribe (Colombia), Arie Vardi (Israel), and Xian Zhang (China).  

For audiences in the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex, the Cliburn promotes great music and world-class artists through the annual Cliburn Concerts series. It reaches 34,000 elementary school students annually with the education programs of Musical Awakenings®. In 1999, it established the International Piano Competition for Outstanding AmateursTM, which The Boston Globe proclaimed "a celebration of music, and the people who have to make music, no matter what.” The seventh Amateur Competition will be held May 2015 at Ed Landreth Auditorium on the campus of TCU.

To learn more about The Van Cliburn Foundation, visit their website