This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Latest News: ISPA News

2020 ISPA Award Recipients Announced

Tuesday, December 17, 2019   (0 Comments)

New York 2020 ISPA Award Recipients Download this media release

On behalf of the Board of Directors, the International Society for the Performing Arts (ISPA) announces the recipients of the New York 2020 ISPA Awards.  The first ISPA Award was presented in 1975 to Beverly Sills. Since then, ISPA has continued to recognize outstanding individuals for their contribution to the arts and their communities. The 2020 award recipients are are as follows:

Distinguished Artist Award Recipient

Presented to artists who have made an outstanding contribution of talent, artistry, dedication, and service to the world of the performing arts.

Angélique Kidjo

Singer-Songwriter, Actress, and Activist

"Angélique is an artist that crosses genres as well as continents. In addition, her commitment and advocacy on behalf of children make her the worthiest of recipients of this honor."
International Citation of Merit Recipient

Presented for unique lifetime achievement which has enriched the international performing arts. This Award is not for performance but rather for distinguished service working within the profession

Joseph V Melillo

International Artistic Advisor for Columbia Artists; 2019 Director’s Fellow at the Center for Ballet and the Arts at New York University

“His contribution to the arts here in New York and internationally cannot be understated.”
Patrick Hayes Award Recipient

Inspired by the legacy of Patrick Hayes, the founding President of the International Society of the Performing Arts Foundation, this Award recognizes an ISPA member in any stage of their career who has demonstrated transformative leadership in the performing arts.

Maria Hansen

Executive Director, ELIA - European League of Institutes of the Arts

“She (Maria) inspires new leaders in the performing arts to connect globally and add value to the international network at ISPA.”
Angel Award Recipient
Presented to an individual or organization which has demonstrated a significant and lasting contribution to the support of the performing arts which transcends the boundaries of one country or institution, and merits international recognition.

Shaw Foundation

“Shaw Foundation has had, and continues to have, a profound impact on countless organizations throughout the region. Their generosity has embraced arts and education and significantly enhanced the infrastructure of both.”

”While we received many worthy nominations, the Board was unanimous in their endorsement on the 2020 awardees. Each individual has contributed so very much to the global performing arts,” said ISPA Chief Executive Officer David Baile.

The awards will be presented at a ceremony to be held during the New York 2020 ISPA Congress, Reframing the Conversation: Art and Borders, on Thursday, January 16, 2020 at the Times Center. The ceremony will be hosted by Alison Friedman, Director of Performing Arts at West Kowloon Cultural District Authority in Hong Kong.