This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
ISPA Angel Award Recipient - Shaw Foundation

ISPA Award Recipient

Mr. and Mrs. Shaw

Shaw Foundation

2020 Angel Award Recipient

Founded in 1973 in Hong Kong by Run Run Shaw, Shaw Foundation Hong Kong Limited is dedicated to supporting education, healthcare and the arts internationally, with a focus on China and Hong Kong.

Over a legendary career spanning some eighty years, Mr. Shaw established himself as one of the most successful filmmakers of all time -- his namesake Shaw Studios produced over one thousand movies, many of which are now considered classics of Chinese cinema. His media empire – studios, theatres, television network, property assets – extended from Asia to North America.

As if running one of the world’s biggest media empires was not enough, Mr. Shaw and his wife Ms. Mona Fong, a powerful media executive in her own right, managed to summon the energy to build the Shaw Foundation into a venerated organization which to date has supported over 6,000 projects. These include museums, cultural foundations, music academies, art galleries, opera and dance performance theatres throughout China and Hong Kong, and a historic theatre in London.

Beyond the arts, the Foundation in 2002 established the Shaw Prize, bestowed annually upon distinguished international academicians in Astronomy, Life Science and Medicine, and Mathematical Sciences.

Among numerous awards, Mr. Shaw was knighted by Queen Elizabeth II in 1977. In later years, he and his wife Mona preferred to be known simply as “Mr. and Mrs. Shaw.” Sadly, Mr. Shaw left us in 2014 and Mrs. Shaw in 2017, but their tireless dedication continues through the work of the Foundation today.


Back to the New York 2020 ISPA Award Winners Announcement

Back to ISPA Awards Main